Getting Started


From Christian Worship, hymn 478:

With the Lord begin your task; Jesus will direct it.
For his aid and counsel ask; Jesus will perfect it.
Ev’ry morn with Jesus rise, And, when day is ended,
In his name then close your eyes; Be to him commended.

If your task is thus begun With the Savior’s blessing,
Safely then your course will run, Naught your soul distressing.
Good will follow ev’rywhere While you here must wander;
You at last the joy will share In the mansions yonder.

Here begins my task… to share a love of gardening and food while giving a shout out to God, the One through whom all things are possible!

I can’t wait to get going.  As I’m writing this, it’s a few days before Christmas.  When I look outside I see a land of ice and snow, it will be a white Christmas this year.  But I also see the blank slate that is my garden in winter, and that is where my creativity bug starts buzzing and my mind starts humming.  I’ll be into seed catalogs in the next few weeks, then starting seedlings shortly after that.  And I’m going to share it all with you–the planning, the planting, the growing, the harvesting, the cooking, the enJOYing!  Let’s get to work.

The blank slate awaits.

2 responses to “Getting Started

  1. Hi Ang,

    I have totally enjoyed reading your blog. I have did a little gardening in the past, but would like to do a little more. Could you please recommend a beginner book for new gardener’s? I signed up for your blog and can’t wait to read the next one. This is truly terrific! Thanks, Tammy

    • Tammy, does your boss know you are reading blogs? Just kidding! I have had a hard time finding a book that meets my needs. What has worked really well is reading the seed catalogs and browsing gardening magazines. There is one book that I have–and use–it is specific to organic gardening: Rodale’s Ultimate Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening. I have more luck at the library gardening section or the magazine rack at Home Depot. There are lots of photos in those materials. Thanks for reading… if you garden this year be sure to tell me about it. Did you ever sign up for a CSA last year?

Leave a Reply

