Swiss Chard: Too good to pass up!


 I wonder if rows of swiss chard lined the Garden of Eden?  In my imagination this brightly colored, nutrient packed, tasty leaf would be right at home in God’s perfect garden.

After all, swiss chard is super easy to grow… God would have plenty of time for working on the rest of Creation.

In my (less than perfect) garden, swiss chard also found a home.  Due to the tiny nature of my patch of earth, my swiss chard took up residence behind the air conditioner.

Swiss Chard "chillin" behind the air conditioner.

I purchased Bright Lights Swiss Chard seed from Johnny’s Seeds and hoped for the best.  By mid-summer, I was in awe of the light show behind my a/c.

A rainbow of Bright Lights stems.

Swiss Chard leaves looking mighty fine.

You can see in the above photo that we humans weren’t the only ones enjoying the swiss chard buffet last year.  We had our share of insects in the garden in 2010, and this (and the spinach) seemed to be a favorite hangout.  While it was a bit of a nuisance, overall the bugs didn’t do too much damage and we were able to use all of our chard, even the holey ones.
 

Intricate red veins adorn the Swiss Chard.

Here are three great recipes we enjoyed last year using swiss chard from our own garden:

Swiss Chard is great raw in salads, tossed on top of a piping hot pizza, sautéed and seasoned with red pepper flakes, shredded and made into a slaw with raisins and nuts, or mixed with your favorite grain–rice, quinoa, couscous, pasta, whatever!

Of course, the finest swiss chard experience takes place in the garden, when the chard is young and tender.  Just snip and eat right there.  It doesn’t come any fresher and appreciation for this beauty won’t be any greater.

But don’t wait till summer standing around in your garden to eat swiss chard!  Eat it now.  Grocery stores are selling swiss chard in bunches–often there are two or more varieties to choose from.  It’s a great winter vegetable, and can be found in winter farmer markets along with other leafy wonders such as kale and spinach.  It’s a good time to try (or retry) swiss chard and think about adding it to the garden this summer.

2 responses to “Swiss Chard: Too good to pass up!

  1. Awesome garden. I am also a fellow gardner, it is my relaxing time and I get such enjoyment out of the fruits of my labor. I have never tried swiss chard but I will definetly try it this spring.

  2. Thanks Karen. I love having my own garden, and it’s great to get some really nice meals out of it too. Swiss chard is easy to grow, let me know how it goes if you do try it.

Leave a Reply

