Photos from the third week of June.


Lavender is beginning to flower. Soon it will be attracting beneficial insects to the garden.

My honeysuckle has been attacked by aphids.

Garlic scapes are the flower stem of garlic. I harvest them and use them for pesto and salads. They have a light garlicky flavor.

Beet greens with water beads after a rain.

Fennel fronds hold beads of water after a rain.

Nasturtium leaves also make a nice resting place for water beads.

This rosemary plant is getting bigger by the minute, I've already harvested from it too! I'm so happy I decided to replace the rosemary I overwintered in the house. This one is much healthier.

I use this veggie bed to rotate crops during the season. Currently it has lettuce, tomatoes, peas, corn (which gets eaten every night, I wonder if we'll get any of it), beans, squash and garlic. Seem like alot? The peas, lettuce and garlic will soon be pulled to make more room for the other plants.

A look at the final baby robin to leave the nest as he contemplates taking the leap.

4 responses to “Photos from the third week of June.

  1. ….loved the photos!
    The lavender heading is very pretty, and the photo of the bird is quite special!
    Where, oh where will he go now?

  2. Thanks Mom. I wish I could put a tracking device on those babies so I would know what they are up to.

  3. Thanks for chronicling the robin developments throughout these posts. Over here in PA, I’ve noticed that the fledglings stay nearby while the parents continue to feed them & teach them to feed themselves. Maybe they’re hiding out someplace in your yard!

Leave a Reply

