Consequences…


It’s been a glorious year in the garden, but not a perfect one.  As October rolls on I’ve been busy removing plants from the garden and harvesting ripe veggies.  This time of year can be a lot of work.  I prefer to take it one day at a time and not try to get it all done in one fell swoop.

The preceding weeks have had their challenges–lots of rain, a hail storm, sickness and pregnancy–which have all contributed to a less than ambitious end to my garden this year.  When the rain and hail came down on a large tomato plant full of very ripe tomatoes, it sort of collapsed on itself and many tomatoes were crushed.  The leeks planted near the tomatoes were a victim of this week of rain too.

I removed tomatoes plants which revealed this patch of crushed leeks. Rain and several weeks of neglect are the cause!

Happily, I was able to save many tomatoes which are now ripening on my windowsill.  I’ve also harvested several peppers, and the eggplant continues to produce.  It’s planted in a warm spot in the yard and won’t realize it’s October until the frost officially comes to our area.  We are fortunate to be insulated by Lake Michigan and our frost comes a few weeks later than outlying areas.  A small benefit of living near the lake.

Personal health challenges and pregnancy fatigue have left me with little energy for the garden.  The garden has continued to be a solace during this time, but if I sit and look at it too long I’m reminded of all the work I need to get done but don’t feel up to doing–and I get a little stressed out.

The weather will be seasonal for the rest of the week, and I plan to get my garlic in the ground soon.  I was able to plant a raspberry cane from my in-laws in the spot that I removed a ground cherry plant from.  Hoping that does well next year.  In addition, I need to start planning a strategy for my strawberries and lemon tree.  Those items need to be protected from the elements.

So that’s where I’m at.  I’m praying that God will fully restore my health soon–my family really needs me.  And my garden needs me too.  And I’m thankful that most things in the garden can take a little neglect.  I appreciate that!

Here I've just watered in my raspberry plant. This was the only spot I could find for this, hoping it copes with being next to the house.

2 responses to “Consequences…

  1. How wonderful that you have updated your blog.
    Your garden is like life……..it has ups and downs…..but keeps on going.
    Next year will bring new life!
    Sending Love and Best Wishes to you.

  2. What a fantastic year of gardening we shared with you. Thanks for the journey. I learned a lot. Be good to yourself during this season of your life.

Leave a Reply

