Lemon Tree Blooms for 2012


If you’ve been following my lemon tree saga, you may be wondering how the tree is doing now.

After bringing the tree indoors around Halloween I haven’t done much with it.  It sits next to our South facing glass doors and on sunny days it can soak in whatever rays penetrate our energy-saving glass.

Around early December I noticed it was developing the tell-tale bumps that would later become blossoms.  By Christmas, dozens of tightly closed blossoms graced the lemon tree.  This week, many of them are opening up and I am thoroughly enjoying their citrus-y perfume.

Now that they are open, it’s my job to take nature’s place and pollinate the tree.  I do this with a tiny paintbrush, simply dabbing the centers of the blooms gently.   I try to do all the open blooms once and then come around and hit them again with the pollen from the other blooms hopefully being distributed.  Does this really work?

Honestly, I don’t think it did last year.  But time will tell.  And short of keeping bees in my house, this is pretty much the only way to do this.  Now I will sit back and wait to see if the tree holds onto any of these blossoms and whether or not any of them will produce an actual lemon.  Already, some have fallen off as they have in years past.

I will hold out hope for a different ending to the 2012 lemon tree story.  And if it’s not to be, then I’ll just be glad for the special scent of these January blossoms and the bit of sunshine they bring to my winter world.

Previous lemon tree entries include:

When life hands you one lemon…
Repotting the Lemon Tree
Lemon Tree Update

6 responses to “Lemon Tree Blooms for 2012

  1. How wonderful to see those beautiful flowers in January!
    It’s amazing that the tree flowered, after looking so down and out.
    …..yet another lesson for all of us to ponder.
    I send Love and Best Wishes to you.

  2. OH for goodness sake!
    What a beautiful winter surprise for you.

  3. How’s it going?
    I’m probably only three weeks behind you. I am still waiting for one of the buds to open. Please share other pictures if you have them. I hope you get some fruit!

    • tommyg,

      Thanks for your comment. I hope I get some fruit too. I find my lemon tree blooms twice a year and I’ve had success with the second bloom which happens in early summer. So we’ll see! Hope yours does well too. 🙂

  4. I have had a similar story here. I get plenty of flowers but the fruits don’t last long, and a majority of them don’t have a stigma. I also tried Dr. Earth and it was effective at making everybody want to move out of the house.

    Were you able to get some fruit to stay on the tree? The first year when I brought it home I got about a dozen lemons to survive to the eating stage, but since then none have survived that long.

    • Mark, the first year we had two lemons and it hasn’t produced since! It currently has several potential mini lemons on it, but they do tend to fall off so I’m not holding out much hope. I will do a post on the lemon tree’s progress soon. And that Dr. Earth! Wow, I am so glad the smell of that stuff finally wore off and I can enjoy my lemon tree again, lemons or not.

Leave a Reply

